Take Care of You

This week I was reminded exactly how fleeting life can be.   Ben’s Uncle Wayne passed away after 87 years of life.  He lost his battle with cancer.  Cancer is such a devastating disease that it can turn a rugged Kansan farmer into a 113 pound shell of the man he used to be.  

One day, you are strong, feeling older but fine.  The next day you discover an ache, lump or something does not feel quite right.  You wait, you put it off, you are sure it is nothing.   Go see the doctor.  Have it checked it out.  If you will not do it for yourself, then do it for your family and friends.

The point is simple.  GO TO THE DOCTOR!!  There is no shame in a false alarm but there is shame in not taking the absolute best care of your health.

I am as guilty of this as the next guy or gal.  I always have something better to do with my precious time.  Going to the doctor is not fun.  There are about a million more enjoyable ways to spend my time.  Taking care of me must be a priority.  I have to move “ME” up on my list of priorities.

Recently, I made an appointment with the dermatologist for my annual mole check.  I was on the phone with the scheduler, she came back to ask if I had been a patient at this office before.  I was shocked.  Of course, in fact, I had been to the office twice this month with my girls.  I have been having annual mole checks for many years.   I started having annual mole checks over two decades ago,  The scheduler returns from the darkness of being on hold.  She is excited to report that she has found me.  I have not had an appointment with them for nine years.  She is optimistic to report that there were three appointments made and cancelled in past years.  Yikes!!!

As part of my list of 50–I have made my appointment for my colonoscopy.  I am not looking forward to this endeavor but it is a necessary evil.  I scheduled it way in advance to mentally prepare.

The List… 

  • Write a monthly thank you to someone who has had a big impact on my life
  • Give blood
  • Spend an entire day completing random acts of kindness
  • Grant a wish from my mom’s bucket list
  • Get real with money
  • Say no and mean it and feel no guilt
  • Ask for help with no guilt or delay
  • Allow myself to be photographed more often
  • Spend a weekend at the monastery
  • Learn about other religions
  • Join my church as a member
  • Lose 20 pounds
  • Belly Dancing Class
  • Pole Dancing Class
  • Body Cleanse and Detox
  • Reflexology
  • Acupuncture
  • Tai Chi
  • Learn to Bartend
  • Learn to Grill
  • Take an Improv Class
  • Ziplining
  • Rock Climbing
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • Disc Golf
  • Laser Tag
  • Paint Ball
  • Big Repairs on the house this year
  • Get a tattoo
  • Have a reading by psychic
  • Go to the rodeo
  • Grape Stomping–yes like the time Lucy and Ethel made wine
  • Tandem biking
  • Compete in an event at the State Fair
  • Drive a convertible
  • Work for a flower shop and deliver flowers for a day
  • Write a blog
  • Read a new book each week
  • Read all the books that my book club selects
  • Film Festival
  • Music Festival
  • Get a passport–the plan to travel out of the country begins..
  • Road Trip alone…Thelma and Louise with no Louise…
  • Train Trip
  • Stephen Colbert Show
  • Independent Bookstore Tour around the Midwest
  • Facial
  • Visit with a cosmetologist for a makeup makeover
  • Join AARP
  • Have a colonoscopy

The items that have been marked through are completed items.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

