Juice Cleanse

As I was researching my latest adventure, I became overwhelmed by the number of ways I could cleanse myself and the number of products I could use to do so.  I read articles, books and talked to healthy living gurus.  I know myself pretty well and I know that a month cleanse was not for me.  I do not like to experiment with food and I do not enjoy hunger pangs.

I arrived at a juice cleanse thinking that I liked juice better than I actually do.  A local business in the Roosevelt Shops offers a  three or five day juice cleanse.  They make the juice for you.  I visited the store and selected the Green Hornet and I was on my way.  My oldest daughter, Elena joined me on the cleanse.  Misery loves company.

My hopes for the cleanse was to give up diet soda and help me to start some healthier eating habits.  I think that a few days without sugar and salt will help me adjust to a diet with fewer sweets and chips.

Day number one of the cleanse came and went without too much notice.  The juice diet kept me satisfied for the most part.  I did not suffer headaches and I did not spend my day in the restroom.  Lunch time at work was pretty hard.  Someone in the office had Chinese food for lunch.  And, if that was not bad enough, another person had fried chicken.  The smells were killing me.  So I grabbed my keys and headed out to the parking lot.  I had to get away.  Before I knew it, I was driving to Jimmy John’s for a quick sandwich.  I left the parking lot and before I reached the first turn, it occurred to me, “you cannot have a sandwich, you are on a juice cleanse.”  So I circled the block and returned to work.

Day number two was about the same.  I am actually enjoying some of the juice mixtures that The Juice Company made for me.  I do miss chewing.  I woke up at five and got to work before six.  I definitely am feeling a boost of energy.

Day number three happens tomorrow and I have no doubt that I can finish the cleanse.  It  has been far easier than I thought it would.  I think I could do a five-day cleanse next time.  This is something that I will definitely do again.

Thumbs Up for juice cleansing.

The List

  • Write a monthly thank you to someone who has had a big impact on my life
  • Give blood
  • Spend an entire day completing random acts of kindness
  • Grant a wish from my mom’s bucket list
  • Get real with money
  • Say no and mean it and feel no guilt
  • Ask for help with no guilt or delay
  • Allow myself to be photographed more often
  • Spend a weekend at the monastery
  • Learn about other religions
  • Join my church as a member
  • Lose 20 pounds
  • Belly Dancing Class
  • Pole Dancing Class
  • Body Cleanse and Detox
  • Reflexology
  • Acupuncture
  • Tai Chi
  • Learn to Bartend
  • Learn to Grill
  • Take an Improv Class
  • Ziplining
  • Rock Climbing
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • Disc Golf
  • Laser Tag
  • Paint Ball
  • Big Repairs on the house this year
  • Get a tattoo
  • Have a reading by psychic
  • Go to the rodeo
  • Grape Stomping–yes like the time Lucy and Ethel made wine
  • Tandem biking
  • Compete in an event at the State Fair
  • Drive a convertible
  • Work for a flower shop and deliver flowers for a day
  • Write a blog
  • Read a new book each week
  • Read all the books that my book club selects
  • Film Festival
  • Music Festival
  • Get a passport–the plan to travel out of the country begins..
  • Road Trip alone…Thelma and Louise with no Louise…
  • Train Trip
  • Stephen Colbert Show
  • Independent Bookstore Tour around the Midwest
  • Facial
  • Visit with a cosmetologist for a makeup makeover
  • Join AARP
  • Have a colonoscopy

The items that have been marked through are completed items.

Leave a Reply

